Skip to content

Reflections of a working writer and reader



Sharing the Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize in Literature has only been shared on two or three occasions in its history, and the first of these was in 1904 when it was divided equally between

FRÉDÉRIC MISTRAL in recognition of the fresh originality and true inspiration of his poetic production, which faithfully reflects the natural scenery and native spirit of his people, and, in addition, his significant work as a Provençal philologist


JOSÉ ECHEGARAY Y EIZAGUIRRE in recognition of the numerous and brilliant compositions which, in an individual and original manner, have revived the great traditions of the Spanish drama.

Mistral was from an old and well-to-do family of landowners that had settled in Provence in the sixteenth century. He was deeply influenced by his early years in the leisurely and patriarchal manor of his father.

Echegaray y Eizaguirre was a mathematician, statesman, and the leading Spanish dramatist of the last quarter of the 19th century. He wrote more than 60 plays, which were a mixed bunch, including both enormously popular melodramas lacking verisimilitude of character, motivation, and situation and serious bourgeois dramas of social problems based on a serious study of Ibsen.

1904, then, a very poor year . . .

One Response to “Sharing the Nobel Prize”

  1. Bhaswati says:

    A mathematician dramatist. Wow! Thanks for bringing us this interesting Nobel snapshot.

    Also here to wish you a very Happy New Year!

    jb says: And to you, too, Bhaswati.